Övningsquilten / The Training Quilt

Ja, denna quilt har jag lärt mig mycket på! Det började med scraps, som jag sydde ihop som ”Leaders and Enders”. Sedan sydde jag på en vit bård på flera av dem. Jag har övningsquiltat på blocken var för sig och sedan sytt ihop dem enligt metoden Quilt as you go! Quilten är ganska stor och avlång (önskemål från KM), 150 cm x 250 cm. När vi skulle fotografera den, la vi den över en stor sten🙂

Training or practicing quilt, not sure about the right word, but I learned a lot sewing it! It started with scraps that I sew as ”Leaders and Enders”. Then I sew a white board around several of them. I´ve been practicing machinequilting on every single block and then I sew them together, quilt as you go! The quilt is very rectangular (request from my DH), 59″ x 99″. When we´d take a photo of the quilt, we laid it over a huge stoon🙂

vitaramar2

vitaramar3

Jag har fortfarande flera scrapsrutor kvar och har funderat vad jag ska göra med dem…. Sen fick jag en idé när jag besökte Evas blogg. Passar på att länka till henne, ni vet, EvaJ, måndag, Visa och berätta. Hon hade i sin tur länkat till Crazy Mom Quilts bloggen och där fanns det en beskrivning där man använder rutor i stil med mina rutor. Så nu vet jag vad jag ska göra med mina scraps🙂 Detta är vad jag kallar inspiration!

I still have a lot of these scrapblocks left and I´ve been thinking what to do with them…. Then I visit Eva´s blog and got an idea. Talking about her I´ll also take the chance to link to her blog, EvaJ, Monday, Show and Tell. On her blog she had a link to the blog Crazy Mom Quilts and there it was a tutorial on how to sew a quilt, using blocks who looked almost like mine. So now I know what to do with my scrapblocks🙂 This´s what I call inspiration!

vitaramar4

15 thoughts on “Övningsquilten / The Training Quilt

  1. Your quilt is beautiful! I follow the Crazy Mom blog too, and I’ve been looking at her Scrap Vortex quilt and thinking what a great use it would be for scraps. So far, there are 3 or 4 other blogging people who are also admiring it and thinking about it – maybe it should be our next quilt bee!

    • Thank you! I´ve been working on this quilt for such a long time and now when it´s finished I´m so pleased with it!
      Question: What´s a quilt bee? Sounds interesting🙂

      • You know what a working bee is? Where a group gets together to work on the same task? A quilt bee is the same, many people working together on the same project.

      • Traditionally, it was a day when a group of women got together to quilt on a big frame. These days, it’s mostly people working together on the same pattern, but separately, joined by their blogs.

  2. You have some great quilting on that quilt! Practicing is the only way to learn. I hope I haven’t forgotten all I knew with my long vacation from quilting. Doing some every day is recommended, but it never fits my schedule. I also like the varied sashing you have used to attach the blocks.

  3. Såå fin. Jag har en stor förkärlek för quiltar med vit bakgrund. Det blir så tjusigt. Och så fina quiltningar man ser i ditt arbete.

Kommentera

